GOP Leader

Is it me..or does this feel like 2008 all over again!

Here you had the ” I have a Dream,” bold and bright Barack Obama as the eager President ready to right the wrong of the last 8 years, under the oppressive rule of the establishment.

I still remember the sight of the helicopter with President Bush taking off as not a single person in the crowd waved or shed a tear.

Everyone had such relief that the nightmare was finally over, and we had a qualified, intelligent, capable President that had a plan to turn things around and get America headed back to glory!

I remember seeing President and First lady Obama at the inauguration:

Mydreamalive.com shows one of the iconic pictures of 2009. The Inauguration Day Oath of our 44th President

To this day, I get goose bumps thinking about what this moment meant for the entire African-American race, and for America!

Now…

It has been 4 years, and I believed in my heart that more would be done to rectify the gross racist and unequal laws that remain on the books in the judicial system. I also truly believed that the corrupt and broken public educational system would finally be overhauled. I believed, that America would right the ludicrous tax code, and the top 2% would be required to pay their fair share. Finally, I believed that immigration reform would take a higher precedence and President Obama would get a chance to put pen to paper and usher in a revived policy on Immigration.

There is still much work to be done!

How in the world is Mitt Romney, Santorum, or Gingrich going to compete against the lasting legacy of President Barack Obama.

They would have to compete with the same earth shattering, America altering campaign that elected President Obama in 2008.

Perhaps it’s me, but I just don’t see it.

I don’t think that:

  1. The Economy – Which is picking up steam
  2. Contraceptive – Rush Limbaugh, need I say more
  3. War on Iran – Did someone say War??? Again????
Are enough to change the course and minds of the American people!
I don’t believe the points above compare with the agenda and priorities before mentioned.
Now, the 1000 pound guerilla in the room is obviously the religious beliefs of all (3) three GOP candidates.
Mitt Romney – Mormon
Rick Santorum – Roman Catholic
Newt Gingrich  – Lutheranism, Southern Baptist, Roman Catholic ( What????)

Will America elect a Mormon to be President of the USA? It is a question yet to be answered?

Now, Mr. Santorum and Mr. Gingrich profess that they are both Roman Catholic.

This is very interesting on so many levels! But I will not get into that right now.

Even though, Mitt Romney is leading in delegates, I think that out of the (3) three GOP candidates, Mitt Romney will have the hardest time competing against an entrenched Christian President.

I know President Obama is looking forward to debating with Mr. Romney on so many levels.

I am again taking back to 2008, when Senator McCain won the GOP and went head to head with President Obama.

I didn’t think the Republican’s had a chance then, and I don’t think either candidate will offer an America shifting ideology that will make President Obama supporters change course now!

So..Again I say, where is the real challenger?

Derrick Butler is President and CEO of Mydreamalive.com, a company dedicated to changing the negative stereotypical images if African-Americans in media, to positive more reflective images of the entire African-American community.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

